Connecticut, like all states, has its own laws about divorce. Plus, there are rules about who can get divorced in Connecticut. Once we determine Connecticut has jurisdiction over your divorce, one of our divorce attorneys can talk to you about the requirements for a Connecticut divorce and design a strategy to prioritize your goals.
Meeting the Jurisdiction Requirement in Connecticut
When considering divorce in Connecticut, it’s essential to understand that the state only needs jurisdiction over one of you, not both of you. There are three ways to meet those jurisdictional requirements:
- One spouse lives in Connecticut for at least 12 months before the divorce is final. (This is how most of our clients meet the jurisdiction requirement.)
- One spouse lived in Connecticut when the couple married, moved away, and then returned here to live permanently.
- The marriage broke down after one of the spouses moved to Connecticut. (This is the least common method.)
There can be some nuance to these requirements, so your lawyer can assist if you are unsure whether Connecticut has jurisdiction over your case.
Is There a Separation Requirement?
You do not need to file for legal separation before you file for divorce in Connecticut. Living separately is also not required before filing for divorce in Connecticut. However, because some other states have separation requirements, residents are sometimes confused and mistakenly believe there’s a similar requirement in Connecticut. In fact, it’s not uncommon for some Connecticut couples to continue living together during their divorce. It’s rare, but some former spouses even continue to share one home after the divorce is final.
Divorce Waiting Period
Connecticut requires a 90-day waiting period between the “return date” and when their divorce can be finalized. The divorce court can waive the 90-day requirement under certain circumstances. If the parties agree on all the issues, they can request the court waive the requirement, which it generally does. You can reach a complete settlement agreement through negotiation and settlement in divorce litigation or via a mediation or collaborative divorce.
Requirements if Children Are Involved
Connecticut requires parents with children under 18 to complete a parenting education program within 60 days after they file the case with the divorce court. The state’s goal is to give parents helpful information and resources to support their children while living in two homes.
Speak To Our Connecticut Attorneys About Requirements for Divorce
One of the things that’s different about Freed Marcroft is that we practice across the state—our lawyers are in every family courtroom throughout Connecticut. So, although the laws are the same, each court has its way of doing things. For example, how a clerk’s office schedules things in one court can vary significantly from how they do it in another, which is vital to know ahead of time. This is one reason it’s helpful to work with a legal team familiar with the nuances of every courthouse.
To learn more about the requirements you need for a divorce in Connecticut, schedule a consultation with a member of our team.